NEWS: Senate Delays Screening of Obanikoro and Other Ministerial Nominees

Reading Time: < 1 minute

By Dickson Blessing

   The Nigeria Senate had on Wednesday deferred the screening of Obanikoro and seven other ministerial nominees to Tuesday next week.

   The nominees which included Senator Musiliu Obanikoro (Lagos), Senator Patricia Akawashiki (Nasarawa), Prof. Nicholas Akis Ada (Benue), Col. Augustine Okwudiri  Akobundu (rtd) (Abia), Engr. Fidelis Nwankwo (Ebonyi), Mrs. Hauwa'u Lawan (Jigawa), Mr. Kenneth Kobani (Rivers) and Senator Joel Danlami Ikenya (Taraba).

   There was no clear explanation given for postponement of the ministerial nominees.

   A motion in the first order containing the list of the nominees titled, "Confirmation of Nominations" billed to be moved by Senate Leader Victor Ndoma-Egba, reads: "That the Senate do consider the request of Mr. President, Commander-In-Chief, for the confirmation of the following Nominees as Ministers of the Government of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, in accordance with Section 147 (2) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria as amended."

    The confirmation was put on hold as mounting opposition heightened against senator Obanikoro to represent Lagos State.

   The opposition on Obanikoro's nomination explained it unwise and against the binding laws of the house to screen him on the basis that he has a pending case in the court of law.

   They also explained that the senate rule forbids the upper chamber from acting on any issue that is pending before a court of competent jurisdiction