Court restraints CRSG from appointing caretaker c’tee, bars Gov’s appointees from administering LGAs


Efio-Ita Nyok|9 January 2017 Cross River leading social commentator Ifere Paul has via his lawyer, Chief Utum Eteng secured an injunction against the appoinments of caretakers by Cross River State Governor Ben Ayade NegroidHaven can authoritatively inform. The High Court of Cross River State this morning presided over by the State Chief Judge Hon Justice Okoi Itam in the suit, Ifere Paul & APC vs Cross River State with suit Suit No. Hc/7/2017 has issued an injunction: 1) restraining Governor Ben Ayade and the Cross River State Govermment from appointing Caretaker Committees to run the affairs of the 18 Local Government Councils. 2) restraining the 18 Heads of Local Government Councils from performing any of the democratically elected Local Government Councils in the said councils. These orders was made after hearing arguments by Chief Utum Eteng, Counsel  to the Claimants, All Progressives Congress on the interpretation of section 7 (1) of the 1999 Constitution. The suit was filed sequel to the recent  directive of Gov. Ayade that democratically elected chairmen should hand over to unelected  HOLGA. The State Chapter of the APC challenge the the directive in the High Court as unconstitutional. A source has it that, 'The Chief Judge, Hon Justice Itam held that it is unconstitutional for the Governor or anyone for that matter to appoint caretakers as heads of LGA. Stating that the Supreme Court has so decided. It will be recalled that in a press release of 14 December 2016 the Secretary to the State Government, Barr. Tina Banku Agbor had announced that the following should take over the administration of local government: 1. Okon E. Agbara ————Abi
2. Bassey E. Effiom …………Akamkpa
3. Theresa Ezima ……………Akpabuyo
4. Simon I. Olem ……………..Bekwarra
5. Mrs. Oma Ekefre …………Biase
6. Daniel Ochui —————-Boki
7. Augustine Ngaji ———–Calabar  Municipality
8. Mrs. Christiana Elemi —Calabar South
9. Inyang Barry Akamo —–Etung
10.Ogban Uno Ekpe ———— Ikom
11. Emmanuel Otu ……………. Ogoja
12. Dr. Martin Akan Ekpang —Obubra
13. Raymond Etta —————– Obudu
14. Paulinus Adie ——————Obanliku
15. Ekeng Edem Ebri John (Mrs) …. Odukpani
16. Michael Ekuri Onongha —–Yakurr
17. Ignatius Ejim ———————Yala They illegally assumed office on 16 December 2016. Efio-Ita Nyok
Is a Blogger, the Editor & Publisher of