See Full list of 2016 GloCAF Awardees: Pres.Buhari, Alex Iwobi, Iheanacho & others Listed


Nelson A.Osuala [6 January 2017] The much talked about  Glo CAF awards 2016, has come and gone but the memories lives on. Spectacular African footballers have successful blazed the trail, and just like the Hollywood movie, 'Spartacus', these guys have claimed "victory in the arena". Other eminent personalities were honoured at the ceremony, including our own Pres. Buhari who received the CAF platinum leadership award from Minister of Youth and Sport, Solomon Dalong at the State House Abuja, premium Times alludes. However, in the list of football category,  is the Algerian born Riyad Mahrez who was crowned the new African King of football. While our own Nigerian brother, Alex Iwobi won the Youth Player of The Year award, Asisat Oshola went home with the Women’s Player of the Year award and the CAF Platinum Award was presented to President Buhari. For order of appearance, see below: 1# African Player of the Year Riyad MAHREZ (Algeria & Leicester City) 2# African Player of the Year – Based in Africa Denis ONYANGO (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns) 3# Women’s Player of the Year Asisat OSHOALA (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies) 4# Most Promising Talent Kelechi IHEANACHO (Nigeria & Manchester City) 5# Youth Player of the Year Alex IWOBI (Nigeria and Arsenal) 6# Coach of the Year Pitso MOSIMANE (Mamelodi Sundowns) 7# Club of the Year Mamelodi Sundowns 8# National Team of the Year Uganda 9# Women’s National Team of the Year Nigeria 10# Referee of the Year Bakary Papa GASSAMA 11# Football Leader of the Year Manuel LOPES NASCIMENTO, President of Guinea Bissau Football Federation 12# Legend Award Laurent POKOU, Former player of Cote d’Ivoire & Emilienne MBANGO, Former player of Cameroon We give kudos to them for such excellent performances and awards well deserved. Source: LIB Nelson A.Osuala
Is a Blogger & the Associate Editor of