UNICAL:2 Students Bag First Class Degrees in 14th MLS Induction Ceremony.


Ubong Edet [27 April 2017] The Unical international conference center yesterday 25th April 2017 was filled to the brim as Unical holds her 14th Medical Laboratory ScienceĀ  induction ceremony . While declaring the celebration opened, the Vice Chancellor Prof. Zana Akpagu, ably represented by the DVC Academics, Prof. Florence Obi, described the occasion as an epoch making one. "Medical laboratory science is a noble profession and must be practice with all form of proficiency". She charged the graduands to represent the institution well and ensure to put into practice (best practice) what they have learnt in the course of their study. The Head of Department of Medical Laboratory Science, University of Calabar Prof. A. A. A. Alaribe introduced 80 graduates who have successfully completed their academic obligations and are worthy to be inducted into the Medical Laboratory Science Association of Nigeria having completed their B.MLS program. Bringing to the notice of the Council and Vice Chancellor that amongst the graduands are two first class students. The Registrar/CEO, Medical Laboratory Science Council of
Nigeria, Mr. Mr. Tosan Erhabor described the occasion as one it's kind especially for the inductees. He congratulated the
inductees whose effort gave an additional colour to the occasion; Nehemiah Emono Dankano and Usungise Peace Bassey. Nehemiah Emono Dankano, an indigene of Taraba State emerged the overall Best Graduating Student with a CGPA of
4.78 while Usungise Peace Bassey, anĀ  indigene of Akwa Ibom State emerged second Best Graduating Student also with a first class degree with a CGPA of 4.57. The highpoint of the event was the oath taking, exchange of mementos to deserving students in different categories and presentation of practicing licence by the Registrar/CEO, Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria; Nehemiah Emono Dankano winning Best Graduating Student's award, Medical Laboratory Science Council of Nigeria award, Best Graduating student award for Chemical Pathology. Usungise Peace Bassey won Best Graduating Student award from Haematology, Dr. Usanga's award while Ntem Patience Komommoh won Best graduating student award from Medical Microbiology, Udofia Nicholas won Prof. Lydia Abia-Bassey award in Medical Mycology. HOD's Outstanding
Innovative Award went to Alaribe Anthony Akabueze, Usungise Peace Bassey won Ekemini Raymond award for graduating student Haematology, lastly Eworo Raymond won Entrepreneurship award. On behalf of the newly inductees, the Overall Best Graduating student, Comr.
Nehemiah Emono Dankano charged fellow graduands to put the knowledge and ideas acquired into work. "He applauded the school management under Prof. Zana's watch for providing an enabling and conducive environment for effective learning which has ended them this accolades, and lecturers Department of Medical Laboratory Science and other departments domiciled in the medical college for the knowledge and skills instill in us", "finally to our proud parents and well wishers your support and encouragements has done us well". Mr. Michael Monity led the 80 inductees in taking a 3 bow of loyalty; first to the almighty God., School Management and lecturers, to parents and sponsors. We congratulate all the new graduands and inductees for this great stride.