C’River First Lady commends Lafarge for advancing development of host communities

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Roseline Irek|7 December 2019 
Cross River State First Lady, Dr. (Mrs.) Linda Ayade, has commended Lafarge Africa PLC for its efforts towards engendering development of its hostcommunities NEGROIDHAVEN can say.
Dr. Ayade, who was represented by the Secretary to the State Government, Barr. Tina Banku Agbor, gave the commendation during Lafarge Africa, Mfamosing Plant – Host Communities Day, held recently at Mfamosing, Akamkpa Local Government Area of Cross.
The first lady stated that the Company's corporate social responsibility has tremendously supported and advanced development in areas such as Education, Infrastructure and Economic Empowerment within its host communities and beyond.
She called on beneficiaries of the various schemes to make judicious use of Lafarge's gesture in order to repay the trust and hope of the Company.
Mrs. Ayade also admonished members of the communities to shun violence and embrace peace and harmonious relationship between themselves and Lafarge Africa.
The country Chief Executive Officer, Mr. Michel Puchercos, in his speech, said that Lafarge Africa Plc, a member of Lafarge Holcim – the world's leader in building solution material, reiterating the Company's commitment towards community development in line with the 2030 sustainability ambitions of the company including climate and energy circular, economy, environment and community.
He further stated that as an organization, they recognize their host communities as progressive partners, building together and for tomorrow, while ensuring that they continually leave positive footprints that will impact the communities in which they operate.
Mr. Puchercos maintained that the collaboration is part of their efforts to strengthen the relationship between Lafarge Africa Plc, and its host communities and the Cross River State Government for a peaceful environment that aids their business operations.
He also said they were there to make formal presentation of CSR interventions to the good people of Mfamosing plant host communities which include the commissioning of the primary Health Centre each at Mbobui and Mfamosing Communities and two classroom blocks primary school in Ekong Anaku Community, among others.
In addition, Mr. Puchercos stated that this year, they have provided Bursary awards to 100 secondary school and 30 tertiary education beneficiaries across all their host communities. 
"To further reinforce their commitment towards education, we have donated school sandals to pupils and students across the host communities, provided 150 desks to Community Secondary School, Mfamosing and engaged National Youth Service Corps Members in schools to improve academic performance of students across their host communities and many more,"  Mr. Puchercos added.
Chairperson of Community Relations Committee of LAFARGE AFRICA PLC, Elder Mrs. Christy Ise, gave a welcome address unbehalf of members of Lafarge Africa plc and the entire Host Communities, said the occasion marked the third edition since the establishment of CRC as the legitimately recognized channel of communication between Lafarge and the host communities.
Mrs. Ise informed guests of the great importance Lafarge attaches to the unity of the host communities, supporting the socio-economic development of people and communities over the years as demonstrated by the various projects and programmes executed across these communities and beyond.
She also appreciated Lafarge Africa Plc for its strides in facilitating effective 
communication and development within the host communities, Cross River State and the general public, while calling on everyone to do their best to enhance the existing peaceful relationship between the host communities and Lafarge Africa Plc.
LAFARGE AFRICA PLC and Mfamosing Plant Host Communities 2019 Community Day was christened "Partnering with Communities and Promoting Enabling Business Environment."
High points of the event were good will messages, cultural display, debate competition by secondary school bursary beneficiaries, presentations, Bursary Awards for indigents students and presentation of trophy to the winners of debate competition.