CRUTECH Alumni: Gov Ayade’s aides, others elected as new executive officers

Reading Time: 3 minutes

8 December 2019 
The duo of Mr. Ajah Francis, Special Adviser (Audit) and Comrade Inyali Peter, Special Assistant (New Media) to the Executive Governor of Cross River State have been elected as Cross River University of Technology (CRUTECH) Alumni Association's National Auditor and National Public Relations Officer respectively NEGROIDHAVEN has garnered. 

The duo of Governor Ben Ayade's aides emerged unopposed as National Auditor and National Public Relations Officer.
According to declared results by CRUTECH Alumni Association Electoral Committee, through Mr. Ajah Esu Irem
the Electoral Committee Secretary who was directed by the Chairman, Arch. Ekpo Otu to announce the results said that the incumbent President, Mr. Eyam Abeng polled a total of 97 votes to emerge winner while his opponent and the serving Deputy National President, Bartholomew Edom scored 11 votes.
CRUTECH Alumni Association Saturday, at a national convention held in Ugep, Yakur local government area of the state elected two Special Assistants of Governor Ben Ayade and others as National Executives Council members to run the association in the next four years our correspondent learnt. 
Another Presidential aspirant, Mr. Paul Agwu was however disqualified for breaching some of the memorandum of understanding he signed with the electoral committee, some of which include taking the association to court after signing not to.
In other elections, the incumbent Secretary, Mr. Tony Sylvers Okon was also reelected after polling 67 votes to defeat his opponent, Mr. Anthony Otiko who scored 41 votes.
Patrick Egere scored 74 votes to defeat the incumbent, Joel Henshaw who had 28 for the office of Vice President (South/South) while Ngom Daniel scored 68 against Engr. Orji Michael's 16 votes to emerge the Vice President (South East).
Ikpi James scored 63 votes to defeat his rival, Eteng Effiom who polled 23 votes to emerge the Finacial Secretary. The other aspirant, Fabian Okweche was also disqualified by taking the association to court against the agreement he signed with the electoral committee.
For the position of Director of Employment, Nsikang Emmanuel scored 44 votes against the 28 and 22 votes polled by his rivals, Odok Orok and Otiala Lawrence.
In other positions, Mercy John Ojeka, Engr. Inyang Ephraim, Engr. Sunnyskippo Otu, Ikem Peter emerged Treasurer, Director of Projects, Provost and National Organising Secretary unopposed.
Other positions have been declared vacant pending when there will be by-election to fill them.
Presenting his acceptance speech, Eyam Abeng thanked members of the association who came out to vote massively for him and pledged to continue to work in the interest of the association.
He called on his opponents and others who had intention of becoming President to eschew bitterness and work with him to ensure the growth of the association.
According to him "I'm not oblivious of the grievances expressed by a few members. The essence of Alumni is to bring us all together to give back to our alma mater. We may share different opionions about certain issues but that doesn't mean that we're working at variance. We're working together and I believe that even those who or wanted to contested against me have the same burning desire as me to see the association grow.
"We are one of the youngest Alumni associations in the country and some issues that have come up during this election should be expected. I want to specially congratulate my opponent and others who had the ambition to be President for the good fight. I don't begrudge anybody rather I see in everybody the hunger to help the association grow. For this, I want to appeal to everybody to eschew bitterness and work with the new executives to achieve their dreams for the association".
He added that "There is no point to fight for alumni positions because if God tarries, the association will outlive us. If you're not President today, you'll be President tomorrow. The space is large enough to accommodate everybody. Honestly, for me, we're all winners hence, I enjoin everybody to accept the outcome of the election in good faith and let's work as a team in the interest of our alma mater".