JUST IN: PDP women leaders in Cross River set the ball rolling

Reading Time: 2 minutes

25 June 2020 
Designated women leaders in the People's Democratic Party (PDP) in Cross River state have decided to set the ball rolling in the state NEGROIDHAVEN can say authoritatively. 
The twelve officially recognised PDP Women Leaders in the Calabar South chapter in Cross River acknowledged by the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party held a meeting on Wednesday where they constituted the chapter's Women Leaders Forum. The Forum elected Chairman of Women Leaders, Secretary, Welfare and Provost.

According to Queensley Offiong Bassey the PDP NWC-recognised Calabar South Women Leader, the essence of the meeting was to organise the activities of women in the PDP in the chapter to give them an advantage financially and in terms of human capacity development. 
According to Bassey, 'I had to call the twelve women leaders of Calabar South LGA together so as to set the ball rolling.
'We had an election where Kate Okon the Women Leader Ward 1 emerged the Chairman of Women Leaders,
Joy Offiong of Ward 10 as Secretary, Umo Cobham of Ward 12 as Welfare and Winifred Eyo as Provost.
'Just like chairmen of wards have their Forum, Women Leaders have theirs too.
Women Leaders Forum is a body to checkmate women leaders over their functions. So the need to have a Chairman they report to; who finally reports to the Chapter Women Leader is imminent.'
Continuing, Bassey disclosed that she 'charged the women leaders to be at peace with every woman and try to resolve any issues concerning women in their ward. Where it seems difficult, then I can step in. I told them it's going to be different as we want the women to be seen beyond the usual N500 to N1,000 during political campaigns.
Bassey said that the PDP women leaders in Calabar South are hoping to do vocational trainings, seminars and  workshops to ensure women are a bit financially stable and can stand on their own.
Present at the meeting was the Calabar South PDP Chapter Chairman Mr. Felix Offiong and the twelve women leaders of Wards 1 to 12.