NCPC unveils list of ’10 best governors in Nigeria’

Reading Time: 2 minutes

23 June 2020 

The National Coalition for Progressive Change (NCPC) has unveiled her list of 'Ten Best Governors in Nigeria' with Governors Ben Ayade, Bala Mohammed, 

Seyi Makinde, Babagide Sanwo-Olu, Dave Umahi, Kayode Fayemi, Nasir El Rufai, Babagana U. Zulum, Nyesom Wike and Willie Obiano making it to the choice list. 

The leadership of the NCPC made the declaration on the ten best governors in the country during their 10 years anniversary celebration which held on Monday in Calabar the Cross River state capital city. 

According to Sunday Michael the National Chairman, the selection revolved around five priority themes of Infrastructure, Poverty Alleviation, Accessibility, Agriculture and Tourism. Michael said last month, through their website (, an e-voting activity from a pool of one million Nigerians was launched to assess the 36 Nigerian governors. 

Michael said that 'We aimed at picking areas that public perception would be high, the voters where given the chance to score the governors up to 20 marks in each area which we multiplied by 5 to create a percentage point for each area, results where tallied to represent the average percentage point for the best governors in 2020.'
1. Sen. Prof. Ben Ayade, Governor of Cross River, Infrastructure 65%, Poverty Alleviation 64%, Accessibility 80%, Agriculture 79% and Tourism 80.5%
(overall: 73.7%).
2. Sen. Bala A. Mohammed, Governor of Bauchi, Infrastructure 79%, Poverty Alleviation 67.5%, Accessibility 65%, Agriculture 80% and Tourism 64%
(overall: 73.1%).
3. Dr Seyi Makinde, Governor of Oyo, Infrastructure 72%, Poverty Alleviation 70%, Accessibility 71%, Agriculture 77% and Tourism 65%
(overall: 71%).
4. Babagide Sanwo-Olu, Governor of Lagos state, Infrastructure 80%, Poverty Alleviation 70%, Accessibility 65%, Agriculture 60% and Tourism 65%
(overall: 70%).

5. Engr. Dr. Dave Umahi, Governor of Ebonyi, Infrastructure 71%, Poverty Alleviation 75%, Accessibility 75%, Agriculture 67.5% and Tourism 62%
(overall: 69.9%).
6. Dr Kayode Fayemi, Governor of Ekiti state, Infrastructure 75%, Poverty Alleviation 64%, Accessibility 66%, Agriculture 75% and Tourism 65%
(overall: 69%).
7. Dr Nasir El Rufai, Governor of Kaduna state, Infrastructure 67.5%, Poverty Alleviation 73%, Accessibility 70%, Agriculture 72% and Tourism 60%
(overall: 68.5%).
8. Prof. Babagana U. Zulum, Governor of Borno state, Infrastructure 86.5%, Poverty Alleviation 72.5%, Accessibility 75%, Agriculture 55% and Tourism 55%
(overall: 68.2%).
9. Ezenwo  Nyesom Wike, Governor of Rivers state, Infrastructure 75%, Poverty Alleviation 70%, Accessibility 65%, Agriculture 70% and Tourism 60%
(overall: 68%).
10. Chief Willie Obiano, Governor of Anambra state, Infrastructure 73.5%, Poverty Alleviation 70%, Accessibility 65%, Agriculture 70% and Tourism 60%
(overall: 67.7%).
Governors of Bayelsa and Imo States were not assessed because they were yet to do a year in office: 'they have only done 6 months in office and there is no basis for assessment. We only listed governors that have done one year and above', Michael explained. 
The NCPC is a pro-democracy organisation founded in 2010 in Nigeria to propagate conscious trends especially in politics.