Newly elected council chairmen meet, elects principal officers

Reading Time: < 1 minute

Government News Source, 4 June 2020
The newly elected 18 local government council chairmen in Cross River State has met and elected their leader "Chairman of Chairmen, secretary and Treasurer".
Hon Emmanuel Bassey of Akpabuyo LGA Emerged chairman of Chairmen, Hon. Emmanuel Ishabor (Ogoja LGA) as secretary and Ofem Obeten Ebri (Yakurr LGA) as Treasurer after they were duly backed by other council chairmen in a meeting held today at the conference hall of the office of the Commissioner for Local Government affairs, Hon. Mrs. Stella Oreme Odey.
Speaking during the meeting, Hon Stella Odey congratulated the newly elected council chairmen, she tasked them on effective representation and gave them assurances of her ministry's cooperation in assisting them to achieve success during their tenure.
The new 'chair of chair', Honourable Emmanuel O. Bassey of Akpabuyo LGA promised to defend the interest of the people in the discharge of his additional role.