Forum commends 10th State Assembly for Swift Recovery of State-Owned Construction Equipment

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Press statement

For immediate release

Cross River South Consultative Forum Commends 10th Cross River State House of Assembly for Swift Recovery of State-Owned Construction Equipment

Calabar, Tuesday 12th March 2024

The Cross River South Consultative Forum (CRSCF) expresses its heartfelt commendation to the 10th Cross River State House of Assembly (CRSHA), under the exemplary leadership of Rt. Hon. Elvert Ayambem, for their decisive action in recovering state-owned heavy-duty construction equipment.

In a laudable display of commitment to transparency and accountability, the Assembly took swift action following their resolution on Thursday, 22nd February 2024, to investigate and recover 34 state-owned heavy-duty construction equipment misappropriated during the previous administration.

CRSCF acknowledges and commends the successful recovery of 7 out of the identified equipment, including a 1050k Dozer, Payloader, Grader, 850J Dozer, Backo, and 2 Excavators. We recognize the challenges posed by logistics, particularly in transporting the remaining 23 equipment back to Calabar, and we appreciate the Assembly’s dedication to continuing the recovery exercise in the coming week.

The forum aligns itself with Rt. Hon. Elvert Ayambem’s commitment to ensuring that all 30 stolen pieces of equipment are recovered, emphasizing the significant financial savings for the Cross River State Government, originally earmarked for rentals and the purchase of new machinery.

As responsible citizens, we believe in upholding the values of transparency, accountability, and good governance. CRSCF encourages the 10th CRSHA to remain resolute in its pursuit of justice and the recovery of misappropriated public assets, regardless of who may be implicated.

This commendable effort by the 10th CRSHA aligns with the forum’s vision for a Cross River State that prioritizes the interests and welfare of its citizens. We urge the Assembly to continue its unwavering dedication to returning Cross River to a model state.



Hon. Eyo Nsa Ekpo Esq.,

Hon. Joseph E. Etene Esq.,

Prof. Emmanuel Eyo Esq,

Hon. Victor Okon,

Sir Maurice Effiwatt,

Hon. Ada Charles Egwu,

Rev’d. James Anam, and

Hon. Ani Esin.