C’River governor receives report from Fidelis Ugbo-led Transition Review Committee

Reading Time: 2 minutes

While receiving the report from the chairman of the committee, Governor Bassey Otu said, ‘Today, I received the report of the Transition Review Committee, which will serve as a compass in implementing the People’s First Agenda NEGROIDHAVEN can report.

‘My administration will look at the report carefully and make far-reaching decisions for the benefit of our people.

‘I appreciate the sacrifice of members of the committee under the leadership of the chairman, Ntufam Fidelis Ugbo, and co-chairman Prof. Eyo Etim Nyong.’

Recall that in May, Gov Otu had constituted a three-man transition review committee comprising a former Secretary to the State Government and former Executive Secretary of Nigeria’s National Planning Commission, Ntufam Fidelis Ugbo the Chairman of the committee, Professor Eyo Etim Nyong, a professor of Petroleum Geology and pioneer commissioner, who represented Cross River State on the first ever board of the Niger Delta Development Commission is to serve as member and the secretary of the committee is the former Vice Chancellor of the Cross River State University of Technology, CRUTECH and a member of the Philosophy of Education Society of Great Britain and that of Australia, Professor Anthony Owan-Enoh.

The committee was mandated to review and harmonise the transition report constituted by the out-gone Ben Ayade government and present same to the incumbent state government.

It would be recalled that the governor during his inaugural speech promised to provide the best governance to the people of Cross River State, saying it is not lost on us the enormous work that must be done and the weight of built-up expectations. Therefore, we shall manage time effectively to rewrite the trajectory of our corporate aspirations in line with our collective dreams in divine destiny.

While constituting the committee, the governor said, ‘We are ready to hit the ground running. Already, we have designed and reviewed our strategic road map to guide our actions as we kick off. We are committed to changing the fortunes of Cross River State.’

The transition review committee constituted 16 clusters for agriculture, finance, education, environment, health, industries, infrastructure, institution, lands and housing, performance management, social services, tourism, audit, payroll and establishment, account, and security.