Cross River Dominates Senate Committee Chairs in 10th Senate Leadership

Reading Time: 2 minutes

In a significant development that highlights the prominence of Cross River state in the 10th Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, key committee chair positions have been awarded to representatives from south-southern Nigeria. The Senate, led by Chief Godswill Obot Akpabio, announced the selection of committee chairs, with an impressive representation from Cross River taking the spotlight NEGROIDHAVEN can report.

Among the notable appointments, Senator Eteng William has been named the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Petroleum Upstream. Senator William’s elevation to this pivotal position signifies a new era for the state in shaping key policies related to the country’s petroleum sector. Being a first-time senator but, the immediate past Speaker of the 9th Cross River State House of Assembly (2019 – 2023), Senator Eteng’s appointment underscores the Senate’s confidence in new leadership that brings fresh perspectives and energy to the table.

Another significant appointment is that of Senator Asuquo Ekpenyong Jnr, who has been designated as the Chair of the Committee on the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC). Senator Ekpenyong’s appointment comes as a recognition of his dedication and commitment to issues affecting the Niger Delta region. Like Senator Eteng, Senator Ekpenyong is also a first-time senator, further demonstrating the Senate’s emphasis on promoting new voices and talents within its ranks.

Adding to the roster of distinguished appointments from the state is Senator Jarigbe Agom, who has been named the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Gas. Despite being a member of the opposition People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Senator Agom’s selection for this crucial committee position speaks volumes about the Senate’s commitment to bipartisan cooperation and ensuring a diverse range of perspectives in key decision-making roles.

These appointments showcase the Senate’s dedication to embracing fresh leadership while recognising the expertise and contributions of senators from various political affiliations. The decision to entrust committee chairs to first-time senators from Cross River reflects Chief Godswill Obot Akpabio’s leadership approach of fostering unity and inclusivity within the Senate.

It’s noteworthy that the State’s triumvirate of committee chairs holds the potential to greatly impact Nigeria’s energy sector and regional development. With these appointments, the state stands poised to play a leading role in shaping the legislative agenda and advancing critical discussions in the Senate.

As the 10th Senate under Chief Godswill Obot Akpabio’s leadership moves forward, these committee chairs from Cross River are expected to bring fresh insights, commitment, and dedication to their respective roles, contributing significantly to the legislative landscape of Nigeria.

The Petroleum Upstream Committee oversights the upstream sub-sector of the Petroleum (excluding gas) industry, while the Gas Resources Committee, covers Liquefied Natural Gas and the committee will as well oversight the Upstream and Downstream Gas aspects of the Oil Majors (multi-nationals) and even the local oil companies.