Nigerian Senate Confirms Dr Betta Edu and 44 Others as Ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Abuja, NigeriaThe Nigerian Senate, in a session held on Tuesday, August 8, announced the confirmation of Dr Betta Edu and 44 other nominees as Ministers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria. The list of confirmed ministers, submitted by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu to the National Assembly for screening and confirmation, covers a diverse range of individuals from different states across the country NEGROIDHAVEN can report.

Among the confirmed ministers is Dr Betta Edu, a former National Woman Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and a former Commissioner for Health in Cross River State. Her confirmation was a result of the thorough screening process conducted by the Senate. This marks a significant milestone in her political career as she takes on the responsibility of serving as a Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The list of the 45 confirmed ministers includes individuals from various states, each with their own unique backgrounds and experiences. Some of the confirmed ministers include Abubakar Kyari from Borno State, Nyesom Wike from Rivers State, and Prof. Joseph Utsev from Benue State, among others.

However, the confirmation process was not without its challenges. Festus Keyamo (SAN), a nominee from Delta State, faced a hurdle as senators voiced concerns over his previous remarks about the National Assembly. Keyamo’s insalubrious comments had drawn criticism and led to a contentious debate among the senators. Nonetheless, after rigorous deliberations, Keyamo’s confirmation was ultimately approved, paving the way for him to serve as a Minister of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

The confirmation of the 45 ministers represents a crucial step towards ensuring the efficient functioning of the Nigerian government and addressing the needs and aspirations of the diverse population. The senators’ thorough evaluation and deliberation underscore the importance of selecting qualified individuals who can contribute to the development and progress of the nation.

As the new set of ministers prepares to take on their respective roles, they are expected to collaborate and work towards achieving the government’s goals, addressing the challenges faced by the country, and enhancing the overall well-being of Nigerians.

But, Malam Nasir El-Rufai (Kaduna), Stella Okotete (Delta) and Danladi Umar (Taraba) were not confirmed by the 10th Nigerian senate.