Former Liverpool Star and England Defender Jamie Carragher Shows His Love For Manchester United Stars

Reading Time: 2 minutes

Former Liverpool ace Jamie Carragher has shown little bias in his all-time Premier League XI         
Former Liverpool defender Jamie Carragher has included five Manchester United stars in his all-time Premier League XI.
In what many would have predicted as a Liverpool-biased side, the only Merseysider to make the list is Liverpool skipper and good friend Steven Gerrard.
The former England international’s inclusion is a fairly straightforward decision – close to 500 Premier League appearances, numerous trophies, plus a worldwide recognition as one of the best players around.
Alongside Gerrard includes the usual big names such as Thierry Henry, Tony Adams, John Terry, Ashley Cole and Alan Shearer, but a surprisingly large selection of former Manchester United stars.
First and foremost being shot-stopper Peter Schmeichel, and then on to the right-back slot where Carragher names Neville ahead of current Manchester City ace Pablo Zabaleta.
‘The right-back unfortunately has to be Gary Neville! Top player and professional’, Carragher wrote in his Kicca blog. ‘Could be challenged by Zabaleta over the next few years, fingers crossed!!’.
In midfield, the former Liverpool player opted for Premier League legends Roy Keane and Ryan Giggs, the latter breaking numerous records and subsequently becoming a part of Louis van Gaal’s backroom staff.
Carragher’s final player, who also a successful stint with Manchester United, is Portuguese winger Cristiano Ronaldo, now widely regarded as the world’s best player and favourite to win the upcoming Ballon d’Or trophy.
‘The best player in the world right now will play on the right side in this team Cristiano Ronaldo’, Carragher added.
Players such as Paul Scholes, Frank Lampard and Gianfranco Zola failed to make the team, though with only 11 to select from over 20 years of Premier League action, an all-time XI will always be debatable.
Carragher’s all-time Premier League XI:
Peter Schmeichel – Manchester United
Ashley Cole – Arsenal / Chelsea
John Terry – Chelsea
Tony Adams – Arsenal
Gary Neville – Manchester United
Ryan Giggs – Manchester United
Steven Gerrard – Liverpool
Roy Keane – Manchester United
Cristiano Ronaldo – Manchester United