USAID-funded Organization Partners C’River to scale up advocacy on Orphans, Vulnerable children

Reading Time: 2 minutes

The United States Agency for International Development (USAID) funded project under the Centre for Clinical Care and Clinical Research (CCCRN) has expressed it’s readiness to partner with the Cross River State Government through its Ministry of International Development Cooperation (MIDC) to scale up care and protection for Orphans and Vulnerable Children (OVC). This also includes children living with HIV, infants and lactating/ pregnant mothers exposed to HIV.

Speaking during the meeting, the State Program Manager, Mrs. Grace Essien asserted that the CCCRN is an indigenous, non-profit organization with a mandate to promote global best practices in health care delivery, medical training and research using locally adopted models of system strengthening.

She further explained that the CCCRN is a recipient of the integrated Child Health and Social Service Award (ICHSSA) funded by USAID to ensure Orphans and Vulnerable Children (OVC) are catered to and given adequate protections by their households and host communities.

In her response, the MIDC Commissioner, Dr. Inyang Asibong, acknowledged the CCCRN leadership for the initiative, whilst stressing on the need to scale down to Etung, Bekwarra and Obanliku as the only 3 LGAs yet to be captured, as it is in tandem with His Excellency, Sen. (Prof.) Ben Ayade’s vision to ensure an improved livelihood for the Orphans and Vulnerable Children (OVC) across the State.

She added that the initiative will provide an increased access to high quality and comprehensive medical services with capacity building of families and communities living in target communities to cater to and protect the children in their care.

The MIDC Permanent Secretary, Mr. Timothy Ogbang Akwaji assured CCCRN of a continuous partnership and intermittent technical interfaces especially around policy formulation.

The initiative currently runs across 15 LGAs of the State including; Calabar Municipality, Calabar South, Odukpani, Akpabuyo, Bakassi, Biase, Abi, Yakurr, Obubura, Ikom, ogoja, Boki, Yala, Obudu and Akamkpa.