UNICAL Terminates appointments of 20 graduate assistants, elevates 35 to professorial cadre

Reading Time: 3 minutes

The Management of the University of Calabar has announced the termination of the appointments of no fewer than 20 Graduate Assistants drawn from across various Departments in the Institution NEGROIDHAVEN can report.

Separate letters of termination of appointment signed by the Registrar, Mr Gabriel O. Egbe indicate that the reason for their layoff is because the affected staff are in contravention of Section 3.9.3 (iv) of the 2014 Regulations Governing the Condition of Service of staff of the University of Calabar.

It is worth noting that the aforementioned section stipulates that “if a Graduate Assistant fails to obtain a Master’s degree after four (4) years, the appointment of the said staff shall be terminated”.

All affected staff are said to have spent between five to nine years post-appointment without evidence of having acquired a Master’s degree within the period of their engagement.

The affected staff whose termination of appointment is with effect from June 6th, 2023 include; the Department of Curriculum and Teaching – Nkanu, Celestine Uno, Samson, Cyprian Ushie and Chukwu Chukwe Agube.

Also affected are; Adie Anthony Unimke of the Department of Geology, Nnenna, Williams Afamuefuna of Anatomy; Okoro, Bernard Chibueze of Microbiology; Eze Ohara Enyinyi of Physics; Udo, Nsibiet Enefiok of Mathematics; Udeze, Leonard Chinedu of Computer Science; Adie John Betiang of Vocational Education; Ikpo Patrick Andelehe of Social Science Education and Edet, Itam Ben of Human Kinetics.

Others are, Arihi, Blessing Ebere of Music; Baba, Ganiyu Olosasa of Crop Science; Okpe, John Ogbang of Forestry and Wildlife Resources Mgt.; Georgeline Elohor Akporume of Agric Economics; Ucheji, Ojuigo Nancy of Mechanical Engineering and Onwe, Peter Daffin of Electrical & Electronics Engr. as well as, Adah Pius Obua and Samuel Edem Okon-Edem, both of Genetics & Biotechnology.

The affected staff are further advised to return all university property in their possession to their respective Heads of Departments and tender evidence of being cleared of any indebtedness by the Bursary and the University Librarian before their final disengagement.



The Vice- Chancellor of the University of Calabar, Prof Florence Obi has announced the promotion of 35 Academic Staff of the University of Calabar to the professorial cadre in the Institution.

Prof Florence Obi who made the announcement at the 234th Senate Meeting of the University of Calabar held at the Senate Chamber of the institution disclosed that 13 Professors and 22 Associate Professors were beneficiaries of the promotion exercise.

Those who made the list of Professors include Dr Basil Akwuegwu (Edu Management), Dr Bob Mgbeje (Biochemistry), Dr Emon Duke (Nursing Science), Dr Oluwatosin Kennedy (Animal Science), Dr Mary Sule (Education Management), Dr Joseph Ogar (Philosophy), Dr Item Atanghwo (Biochemistry), and Rev (Fr) Dr Imo Obot (Educational Foundation).

Others include Dr Ephraim Ikegbu (Philosophy), Dr (Mrs) Aniefiok Edet (Educational Management), Dr (Mrs) Josephine Nanjwan (Special Education) , Dr Emmanuel Bassey Eyo (Philosophy) and Dr Mesembe Edet (Philosophy)—posthumous.

Those who ascended the rank of Associate Professors include Dr Edor Edor (Philosophy), Rev (Fr) Dr Godfrey Ukpabio (Educational Management), Dr (Mrs) Usen Mbon (Educational Management), Dr Ekpenyong Ekanem (Educational Management), Dr Ajigo Ikutal (Vocational Education), Dr (Mrs) Bernadine Ekpenyong (Public Health) and Dr Peter Ubi (Economics).

Others in the list are Engr. (Dr) Fina Faith-Praise Otosi (Computer Engineering), Dr (Mrs) Alberta Nsemo (Nursing Science), Dr Ncha Bubu (Philosophy), Dr Idang Ojong (Nursing Science), Dr Pauline Ekpang (Guidance/Counselling), Dr Chiaka Denwigwe (Guidance/Counselling).

The list also include Dr Love Asor ( Continuing Edu & Dev Studies), Dr (Mrs) Nkereuwem Ukpong (Educational Management), Dr Emmanuel Ikwen (Special Education) and Dr (mrs) Eme Effiong (Accounting).

The following completed the list: Dr Joseph Asuquo (Orthopaedics & Traumatology), Dr S.C. Ohadoma (Pharmacology), Dr Joseph Ajor (Hist/Int Stud), Dr Michael Agba (Public Admin) and Dr Jonathan Chimakonam (Philosophy).




This story amongst others are reviewed on Sparkling 92.3FM and FAD 93.1FM. Again, opinions expressed on NegroidHaven are exclusively the author’s not NH’s.